In Praise of…Weird Mysteries

I’m picky about mysteries. I don’t like know-it-all detectives who conceal evidence from readers so that we have no chance of solving the mystery before the detective hands us the solution on a platter (I’m looking at you, M. Poirot). I don’t like amateurs who stumble into a mystery and suddenly become sleuths abetted by real police (cozy mysteries, mainly). But I love mysteries that take some of the trappings of the genre—determined investigators, layers of puzzles, etc.—and drop them somewhere strange.

To qualify for the sub-genre of weird mystery, it has to have a possibly supernatural or just deeply strange setting in addition to a crime and a detective. But it can’t just be a mashup, which has fun with genre stereotypes. The detective might not be an unreliable narrator, but there is always some question about how real their reality is. Weird mysteries give us a bigger mystery than solving a crime.

Mixing fantasy elements to a mystery novel makes it easier to see the existentialist elements of the genre. Not only do we try to solve the puzzle before the detective, we also wonder what they wonder: who are we? what are we doing? what if I’d followed a different path? what does it all mean? As readers of this blog will know, I love books that mess me up and weird mysteries definitely qualify.

Some of my favorite weird mysteries include:

I sincerely hope more authors start making their mysteries weird.

da64a6dabee002b97e537e394f08ed34
Federico Faruffini
2 thoughts on “In Praise of…Weird Mysteries

  1. I’m not sure I love my mysteries weird. After all, to me it’s more of a comfort read, and although I don’t mind a quite dark setting whose twisted psychology would kind of upset me, I love a nice resolution (not a deus ex machina though). I have read none of the titles you list. Have you read The Yiddish Policemen’s Union? If so, does it qualify as weird to you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annie

      Fair enough. I know my tastes are darker and weirder than most. 🙂

      I’ve tried to read The Yiddish Policeman’s Union twice, but I couldn’t get into it. I think I need to be in the right mood for it because I liked another of Chabon’s books, Wonder Boys.

      Like

Comments are closed.