A reader resolves, year 4

This year’s resolutions are a mix of challenge and reward:

  1. Challenge: I will read at least one work of nonfiction each month.
  2. Reward: I will read at least one book written before 1900 each month.

I thought about adding one of the myriad reading challenges but, due to health issues, I need to take it easy on myself for at least the first six months of the year. (Mostly, I don’t want to end up with a challenge that requires me to read poetry.) I’d rather let my mood dictate what I read for the next while.

b0c8e44c0f2e126b557548951f690ab4
Gayle Kabaker

Nonfiction is on this year’s resolution list because I keep running across reviews for books on topics that sound utterly fascinating. John McWhorter has two new books out that I haven’t gotten to yet and someone just wrote a history of the Nazi regime on drugs. Plus, there are books that people have been talking about on the bookish internet for ages that I really want to tackle, like The Emperor of All Maladies. The only downside is for my friends and family, who will be assailed with random trivia about any number of weird events and phenomena over the next twelve months.

The classics are back on the list because I realized that I miss reading Victorian literature after a while. I love the rich language and the subtle jabs of writers like Austen and Dickens about their characters. There’s more to it, but I’m not entirely sure why I’m drawn to these books so much. Perhaps I’ll figure that out by the end of the year.

If you’ve also made reading resolutions, let me know in the comments. Happy reading, everyone!

One thought on “A reader resolves, year 4

  1. Following reading ‘The Year of Reading Dangerously’ by Andy Millar, I am this year doing my own ‘list of betterment’ and writing about the books I read. They are mainly in the ‘classic’ genre and I am looking forward to getting started with Middlemarch by George Elliot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

