Booknip & Bookbane

The Book Rioters call it the wheelhouse. I tend to think of certain settings, plots, characters, and tropes as booknip. I cannot resist books when I run across certain things in a book review. This has gotten me into trouble a time to two, when it turns out that the booknip is the only good part of a book.

Here’s what sends me running to add a book to my to-read list:

  • Books set in places, times I’ve never read about before (unless it’s the ’50s)
  • Metafiction
  • Fantasies set in and around libraries, bookshops
  • Ethical dilemmas
  • Russia during the Revolution and Civil War
  • Picaresques with brains as well as silliness
  • Reincarnation featuring several characters who keep finding each other through the centuries (unless it’s a romance)

But if I spot these things in a book description, I will immediately stop reading the blurb:

  • Stories of dysfunctional suburban families or crumbling suburban marriages
  • “Contemporary romance”
  • Were-anything other than wolves
  • The 1950s
  • Cosy mysteries and/or mysteries that have terrible puns in their titles
  • Rich people problems/first world problems
