Step Aside, Pops! by Kate Beaton

Step Aside, Pops!
Step Aside, Pops!

I have a deep, abiding love for silliness. When silliness is paired with history jokes, I’m over the moon. Kate Beaton, creator of Hark! A Vagrant, is, therefore, one of my favorite artists and writers. I eagerly await each installment of her webcomic. And, when I spotted a copy of Step Aside, Pops! at the bookstore, I just had to grab a copy. I was up chortling late into the night.

Step Aside, Pops! is a Beaton’s second collection of strips from Hark! A Vagrant. There is some new material here, but most of the strips have already appeared on the sight. The value of the collection comes from having so many comics on hand to dip into when one feels the need for hilarious absurdity. This collection features strips about the Black Prince, Wuthering Heights, Aleksander Pushkin, the Founding Fathers at a modern mall, Liszt and Chopin, and much more. Between the comically exaggerated drawings and writing, Beaton is a treat for any academic nerd.

And now I’ll leave you with my favorite Hark! A Vagrant strip:

Dude Watchin' with the Brontës, by Kate Beaton
“Dude Watchin’ with the Brontës,” by Kate Beaton
