Finishing books at bedtime and why you shouldn’t

The ending of a book should be cathartic. All the plot threads should be tied up, leaving just a few in the case of series. There should be a sense of closure.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way for me.

It may be the kinds of books I’m attracted to, but I almost always feel wound up when I finish a book. All the emotional tension the plot has been churning up is still there and I’m left feeling restless. After I finished reading The Lewis Man by Peter May last night, it took forever to fall asleep. (I have strange problems, I know.) This means that really thrilling reads can touch off temporary insomnia for me.

The only solution is to stop reading before the end of the book and leave the rest for the next day. But if the book is really good, there’s no way that’s going to happen. I must know what happens next.

2 thoughts on “Finishing books at bedtime and why you shouldn’t

  1. I kind of agree but possibly for different reasons. If I finish a book before bed I don't get keyed up about the book just finished, I get keyed up about what my next should be. Sometimes I will forgo finishing one before bed in order to choose and start my next book.

    Like

  2. I only get jazzed up about a new book if I've been waiting for it for months. Otherwise, I usually feel a pleasant sense of anticipation.

    Perhaps I have this problem because I read so many mysteries and thrillers and sci-fi/fantasy in which the world is at stake. There's a lot of tension that builds up when I read those books and it takes a while to get rid of it all.

    Like

Comments are closed.