Ideal conditions

“This says his next book will be
called Greatest Hits from Twitter…

I recently read on the Guardian books site that Neil Gaiman, one of my favorite writers, is planning a social media sabbatical next year to focus on writing. He says that if it weren’t for social media, he would have finished his most recent book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, “twice as face.” Every time this comes up, I face a dilemma. On the one hand, I like being able to look behind the curtain and see how an author works. I follow Gaiman’s Twitter and Facebook feeds, John Scalzi’s blog, and N.K. Jemisin’s blog.

With authors that already take a long to time write–like Gaiman, George R.R. Martin, and Diana Gabaldon–you’d almost prefer that they worked in hermit-like seclusion, cranking out book after book for their readers (namely me). That’s not fair to the authors, of course. They have lives and non-writing related interests. They have to market themselves to garner more readers. I love seeing Brandon Sanderson at his surprise book signings. (Though when I leave, I want someone to drag him back home so that he can write.)

I’m not as worked up about this as some fans. (There are always a few who put the rabid in maniac.) I just go out and find new books to read and mark my calendar when I hear about a new book.

