Dead and Gone, by Charlaine Harris

5161066I’ve been waiting for this book since I finished up the previous book in the series last summer, and it didn’t disappoint. In Dead and GoneDead and Gone, the further adventures of Sookie Stackhouse, a lot of loose ends are wrapped up and it feels like we’re moving into new territory. Rather than dealing with the ongoing Louisiana vamp saga, the Weres decide to come out and, consequently, complicate Sookie’s life. Meanwhile, the revelation that her great-grandfather was a fairy (mythologically, not sexually) turns out to be an even bigger complication.

The Were plot thread involves some ghastly anti-were violence that Sookie has to get to the bottom of, as her brother is suspected of being the killer (again.) The fairy thread takes over towards the middle of the book. Even though Sookie is kind of a peripheral character in the struggle between the pro- and anti-human factions, she gets kidnapped and severely injured. The ending of the book is rather spectacular, but I can’t help but feel that Harris closed the door on some potentially fertile territory for future novels. But have noticed that, in the contemporary fantasy genre, you either have vampires and werewolves or you have the fae. Generally speaking, they don’t do both.

I hate to say too much, for fear of giving away the good parts. But I think this book is worth the wait, especially once a certain couple get back together. The book came out yesterday, and I stayed up last night until I finished it because I wanted to find out what happened next. The downside of this is that I have to wait another twelve months to get the next installment.

