It Sucked and Then I Cried, by Heather Armstrong

4222360I’ve been reading Armstrong’s blog, dooce.com, for months now and I have fallen in love with how she writes. Almost every post I read makes me laugh out loud at her irreverence and sarcastic wit. Having read It Sucked and Then I Cried, I am even more impressed with Armstrong for the way that she can look back on a very dark time in her life with humor.

This book is a memoir of the months Armstrong was pregnant with her first daughter and the nine months after. Unlike other motherhood memoirs, Armstrong was also off her medication for depression. I’m not a parent, but everything I’ve heard and seen has led me to believe that it’s one of the hardest things in life. Being a depressed person off medication will only make it harder. Armstrong’s memoir is brave and funny, and I really enjoyed reading it. Parts of it made me wish that I could retroactively send her hugs and chocolate.

