World War Z, by Max Brooks

8908I finished this book last night, around 1:40 in the morning. This one was a very fast read, given that I worked yesterday and was in class for a couple of hours and I only started reading it Tuesday afternoon when it came out.

World War Z, by Max Brooks, is a follow up to his fantastic book, The Zombie Survival Guide, which was all it’s title promised. Really, if there were zombies, the Guide would be perfect.

Essentially, this book is a collection of interviews with the survivors of a global zombie attack that wipes out most of humanity. This book follows that outbreak from it’s origins (as far as they can figure), through to the end of the Zombie War–though people are still finding zombies on the ocean floor and frozen in the extreme northern and southern parts of the world.

This book was a lot of fun. I had my nose in this book every chance I got, just to find out how people survived. I even found myself thinking some of the same thoughts I had when I read the guide, about zombie-proofing my house: how can I board up the doors and windows, how long would it take to get rid of the stairs, should we run for it instead of staying, &etc.

In retrospect, I am amazed at how much thought Brooks put into this book. On top of all the zombie action, this book has a lot of social and political commentary about our society and it seems like Brooks knew exactly were we would fracture. I daresay that some of this commentary–which gets pretty anti-Bush, anti-corporate, anti-celebrity and material culture, and so on–may be hard to take for people who on the other end of the political spectrum from me. And even for me, some of the comments made by the survivors stung.

Leave a Reply

