Shelters of Stone, by Jean Auel

And now for something completely different…

46544I’m reading The Shelters of Stone just to find out what happens next. I’ve read the reviews and, having read about 8/10ths of the book, there really isn’t anything that I can recommend about this book apart from the fact that you get the next segment of the Ayla and Jondalar saga. The characters are good, but no one gets to do much. I’ve read more than 400 pages but we haven’t progressed more than a week or so, book time.

Most annoyingly, there seems to be an inordinate amount of recap in the book. Not only do the characters and the narrator recap what happened in the previous novels, but it seems like every time a character does something, they have to explain what they just did to other characters when they meet up again. It completely bogs down the narrative, and there’s no point to it. This book would probably been half the size it is if it weren’t for characters taking as long to tell each other what they were doing as they did doing it in the first place. And if I have to read another description of what happens when you knock iron pyrite and flint together, I may have to add this book to the short list of books I have hurled across a room in anger.

Jean, you have written great books, what happened while you were writing this one?

